Switching Gears…

nursing-care

I am sure you all know the saying “You never know until you try” Well, my life is taking a turn for the better, and it is because I took a chance on a path and found that it was not for me but in doing so I found out where I truly belong!

When I decided to go back to college and make a better future for myself I had two choices in front of me. Two roads that I have wanted to go down for awhile, both very different from each other yet also similar in that both paths meant getting to have a career where I was helping others, giving back to my community and devoting my life to helping make a better life for someone else.

I felt I wanted to be a Nurse or a Teacher…I decided ultimately that since I was never going to have children of my own that I would become a teacher so that way I could at least work with, teach and be a role model for the children that will someday run this world. I thought I would be a good teacher and I might have been had I gone down that path about 10 or 15 years ago but after being deep in this program for the last year I know for sure now that this is not the path for me.

I started thinking that I should have gone into nursing early in the semester and the more I got into this field the more I knew I needed to go with my first instinct, I need to follow my gut and intuition and follow my what my aunt a retired nurse said was my “calling” into nursing.

I really just want to do something with my life that is meaningful in a big way and makes a difference to someone else’s life. I want to spend the rest of my life helping people and giving to them in any way I can that will add to their life somehow. I want to know that I was able to help at least one person in some meaningful way and I cannot think of a better way to do that than to be a Nurse.

So I finally bit the bullet and met with the adviser and got my new course list and start my new path this coming Fall. Luckily I already had all but 2 of the prerequisite courses done and not only that but I also found out that I earned a 2nd degree while taking my education classes so I will have 3 degrees when I finish nursing school and will add a 4th the year after since nurses now need a BSN within the first 5 years of graduating… easy online though… so anyway, this is where I am at now and I feel really good about this decision!

I do not view the time I spent in the education program as a failure or time misspent at all because I learned a lot that I will take with me in life. I also learned that being a school teacher was not the path for me and like my ex husband said to me, had I not done it I would have always wondered…and now I can say with 100% certainty that I am looking forward to starting my life and future as a Nurse!

I only wish I had figured it out sooner and had the confidence to do it sooner but life has a funny way of showing us when we are ready and the universe has definitely showed me that now is my time.

Fall classes are registered as math: Statistics, Anatomy & Physiology 1 with a lab and finally: Intro to patient care … 4 nights a week from 8/28 to 12/17 …The beginning to my ending …

I am super excited and thank you all for your support and kind words as always, I truly appreciate each and every one of you and as I am pulling out my hair during the next several semesters and stressing out like I do I thank you in advance for cheering me on and reminding me of this moment right now when my heart is full of hope and excitement for my future ❤

rosie-the-nurse-_-https___www-pinterest-com_gregmercer601_nurses-women-history_

Leave a Reply

